Somos Dockers®

From Sept. 15 to Oct. 15, we celebrate the achievements, traditions and cultural diversity of all Hispanic identities. So we sat down with a few of our U.S.- based employees to discuss their highs and lows, generational POVs and the childhoods that shaped them — because every story deserves to be heard.

CEO
Santiago Cucci

As told to Fernanda M. Tovar, Copywriter

Q: Tell me a little about your history with Dockers®.

A: I’ve been with Dockers® for 10 years now. Creating a sense of community can always be difficult, but I’m proud of how far the brand has come. We’re open-minded, we have strong values and diversity is part of our blood.

Q: What was your childhood like?

A: We had a lot of family get-togethers. We loved celebrating El Dia De Los Reyes Magos, or King’s Day to others. We’d enjoy the good food and wine, we’d talk loud, we’d joke a lot. Then we’d start dancing and we would celebrate. It was always about the family being together, nothing else. I'm proud of my roots. The way I was educated, the way I was raised — it’s who I am.

Q: What does your go-to everyday look consist of?

A: Most days, you can find me wearing Dockers®, of course. Particularly the Alpha Khaki in a skinny fit.

Global Head of Planning
Katherine Buchanan aka KB

As told to Alex Pesina, Jr. Designer

Q: Where are you from?

A: I’m born and raised in the Bay, but if someone really wanted to understand why I was, in essence, the way I was, they should go to Ecuador.

Q: Did you have any brothers, sisters or cousins?

A: I'm one of six or seven, where all my cousins are within one year of age. My dad is one of seven children, as well. Now we’re grown up and we all live in different parts of the country, but because it was so tight-knit, there were always full houses. They'd be like, ‘who are your friends?’ And my friends were my cousins. I didn't need anybody else.

My parents would send me and my older brother to Ecuador for the summer. I remember kind of kicking and screaming, wishing I could stay home and go to camp with friends, but those trips changed my life.

Global Head of Design
Nicolas Rendic aka Nic

As told to Yolanda Gonzalez, Digital Designer

Q: Where is your family from?

A: My family is from Santiago de Chile and the more southern part of Concepción. I grew up mostly in Miami, Florida, and in Chile because we went back and forth a bit. Lots of political issues were going on in the '70s, so my parents decided to move us to Miami, where the economy and opportunities were better.

Q: Do you have any childhood memories you’ll never forget?

A: One of my fondest memories is eating artichokes and playing chess with my grandmother in her apartment in Santiago. My family also had a ranch, so I enjoyed riding the horses and hanging with the animals.

Q: How do you define your style?

A: A simple t-shirt and either khakis or jeans are my go-to. I surf a lot, so you might even catch me in a wetsuit.

Senior Social Media Coordinator
Katya Linehan

As told to Fernanda M. Tovar, Copywriter

Q: Tell me a little about your childhood and what it was like growing up?

A: My mother is from El Salvador, but I grew up partly in the Mission, a bustling neighborhood in San Francisco. We moved a lot when I was younger, so around fifth grade, we moved to Marin county, which is in the northwestern part of the Bay Area, where I spent middle and high school.

During Christmas, we’d have family parties at my tia Ana's house and at the end of the night, all of the men in the family — including my abuelito — would play poker. That was a tradition and it still is, even though they've passed.

Q: Can you give me a glimpse into your family tree?

A: My grandfather on my mother’s side worked for the president during the Salvadoran Civil War, so they fled and their political asylum was granted. I would say I identify more with my mother and her indigenous brood from El Salvador just because I grew up around them the most. 

Q: What makes you proud to be part of the Hispanic community?

A: I’m proud of the indigenous Salvadoran blood I have from my mother. Some of our family still live in villages where they use a lot of clay made from dirt, but it's also cool to see how the culture has progressed through generations.

Q: What does your everyday look consist of? 

A: I’m usually in jeans, loafers, and a basic white tee — maybe a cashmere sweater, too.

A Shared Sense of Community

From childhood memories to shared struggles and personal triumphs, everybody’s story is similar yet different. We’re a team — and at the end of the day, no matter how each of us got here, todos somos Dockers®.